Life is a Fairway

My thumb makes its first cameo

A dear friend of mine recently became engaged.  As befits my status as dear friend, I have the distinct honor of serving as her bridesmaid one year from Friday.  I have been nothing but thrilled since the beginning, but she recently expressed concern at not having properly pre-thanked me by presenting me with a token martini glass or cookie basket upon asking me to join the wedding party.  Well, she can rest easy, because on Sunday she gave me the best present EVER.  A ride to Fairway.

I love New York.  I really do.  But my god do I sometimes want to drive to the grocery store.  To buy heavy things without worrying if it will fit in my work-supplied tote bag (the joys of public radio employment…).  To not arrive home in the midst of an asthma attack because I decided today was the day to buy every canned good at the Key.  To push a cart around the store, weaving in and out of shoppers, narrowly avoiding knocking over small children, sometimes doing it on purpose…I digress.  Point is, drive me to Fairway and I will be your bridesMAID.

Thus, I present, my loot.

Unbreak my Heart-ichoke

Stuffed Artichokes: I don’t think it’s artichoke season (seasonal vegetables is something I should learn if I ever intend to be a legit food blogger, flogger?  no.), but they looked so tasty thanks to that magical Fairway lighting (read: not Key Foods flickering florescents) so we snatched them up anyway.  I tossed together a basic stuffing (bread crumbs, cheese, chopped shallots, olive oil, salt, pepper, etc), trimmed the ‘choke, stuffed it up, and finished with a little drizzle of olive oil.  I opted for the stick ’em in a pot with some water, olive oil, and garlic, cover and steam away for 35-40 minutes method.  It turned out okay, but I think could use a little tweaking.  The stuffing was tasty (I mean, look at that ingredient list), but it was almost…soggy.  I don’t know if ‘chokes do well in the oven, but I’m not above finding out.

Roasted Garlic Aioli: Roasting garlic is one of those impossibly simple things that has an aura of fuss and fanciness.  It really consists of slicing off the top of a head of garlic, drizzling on some olive oil, and sticking it in a 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes.  And when you let it cool, mash up the cloves, and add it to your aioli, well, I’ll let the equation speak for itself: Egg yolk + oil + lemon juice + garlic = perfect dipping sauce for out of season, lean, soggy artichoke.

It's mostly raw on the inside. And that's what makes it delicious.

Seared Tuna: It really does not get easier than this.  Salt and pepper both sides of the tuna, and sear it in a cast iron skillet (~1 min/side).  Bonus, skip the olive oil and sear it in duck fat.  Thanks, Meat Hook!

2 comments

  1. I think you are confusing “concern” with “astonishment,” as if you recall I was horrified that they expected Asking to be Bridesmaid gifts. Dude everyone has to be a bridesmaid 0-14ish times in their life, and my gift to you all is a monogrammed and most likely useless gift presented at the rehearsal dinner and the fact that I am undemanding and will never yell at you and always provide alcohol at invitation-stamping parties. Amen. Oh and thanks for the shoutout. Dumpling is always happy to hoof it to a fancy grocery store 🙂

  2. […] I’m obviously not finished waxing nostalgic about Fairway, let us now return to the produce aisle on that fateful Sunday.  The options were, to say the […]

Leave a Reply

